Seven Deadly Sins

Contest Info

  • Started: 3/20/2008 06:00
  • Ended: 3/22/2008 06:00
  • Level: advanced
  • Entries: 20
  • Jackpot:
  • FN Advanced 1st Place $5
  • FN Advanced 2nd Place $3
  • FN Advanced 3rd Place $2
Seven Deadly Sins
Contest Directions: This month the Vatican has updated the list of seven deadly sins. According to the Pope the update was needed because "times have changed and so have the sins and sinners". The original seven deadly sins were declared in the 6th Century by Pope Gregory: Pride, Envy, Gluttony, Lust, Anger, Greed, Sloth.
The new seven deadly sins, declared in March 2008 by Pope Benedict XVI, officially replace the old list and are: 1 - "Bioethical" violations such as birth control, 2 - "Morally dubious" experiments such as stem cell research, 3 - Drug abuse, 4 - Polluting the environment, 5 - Contributing to widening divide between rich and poor, 6 - Excessive wealth, 7 - Creating poverty.
Photoshop any of the old or new seven deadly sins as demotivational posters. Try to make them mimic the classic motivational posters format (see examples) - black background, image in the middle, followed by the title word(s), and demotivational message below. The image in the middle has to be photoshopped, so you can not just take unaltered photo and add text to it. NOTE: as an exception to our rules, in this contest you are allowed to recycle any of your previous entries of FN and use it for the central image in your demotivational poster. Remember that your entry in this contest HAS to include the title word(s) and a de-motivational text message, like in the examples above.

Contest Info

    • Started: 3/20/2008 06:00
    • Ended: 3/22/2008 06:00
    • Level: advanced
    • Entries: 20
    • Jackpot:
    • FN Advanced 1st Place $5
    • FN Advanced 2nd Place $3
    • FN Advanced 3rd Place $2
This gallery only contains our top 22 selections from its parent contest Seven Deadly Sins. All 20 contest pictures can be viewed here.
  • Lust Guitars

    Lust Guitars
  • Gluttony Dog

    Gluttony Dog
  • Sloth Abraham Lincoln

    Sloth Abraham Lincoln
  • Pride Chimp Illusion

    Pride Chimp Illusion
  • Greedy Ray Nagin

    Greedy Ray Nagin
  • Anger Demotivational Poster

    Anger Demotivational Poster
  • Pope Polluting The Environment

    Pope Polluting The Environment
  • Greedy Heather Mills

    Greedy Heather Mills
  • Gluttony Michael Moore

    Gluttony Michael Moore
  • Gluttony On the Beach

    Gluttony On the Beach
  • Michael Moore Gluttony Poster

    Michael Moore Gluttony Poster
  • Pride of Paris Hilton

    Pride of Paris Hilton
  • Lust in Brokeback Mountain

    Lust in Brokeback Mountain
  • African Envy Poster

    African Envy Poster
  • Greedy Bill Gates

    Greedy Bill Gates
  • Pope Leads by Example

    Pope Leads by Example
  • Wrath of Heather Mills Poster

    Wrath of Heather Mills Poster
  • Envy Poster

    Envy Poster
  • Morally Dubious Pope Poster

    Morally Dubious Pope Poster
  • Polluting the Environment with Diapers

    Polluting the Environment with Diapers
Register to post comments and participate in contests.
This contest is fueled by the following news: The sins which lead to the downfall of the soul are called the "Seven Deadly sins" in Christianity: * Pride ; * Envy; * Gluttony; * Lust; * Wrath; * Greed; * Sloth; According to the opinion of the Catholic Church, deliverance from these sins brings only repentance, confession and the implementation of penance. The Bible does not cite a precise list of sins but warns against their perpetration in the Ten Commandments. The list is traced back to the eight thoughts of Evagrius Ponticus, however, sorrow is replaced by envy and vanity is combined with pride. For the first time, the sins were listed in the same order by Pope Gregory the Great (7th century). The concept of seven deadly sins received widespread propagation after the works of Thomas Aquinas (8th century). Contrary to popular belief, the concept of the "Seven deadly sins" is not part of Christian dogma but serves one of the many possible ways of describing the sinfulness of a person. Interview of Bishop Gianfranco Girotti: In March, 2008, the Bishop of the Catholic Church Gianfranco Girotti, in an interview to the official newspaper of the Vatican "L'Osservatore Romano" has added seven more modern deadly sins "seven social sins" to the traditional sins: * "Bioethics" infringement (for example, birth rate control); * Morally debatable experiments (for example, linked with stem cells or genetic engineering); * Environmental pollution; * Enhancing the growing difference between poor and rich; * Obscene wealth; * Drug trafficking; * Infliction of poverty In their interpretation, mass media has stated about the changes in the beliefs of the Catholic Church, which was not to be in reality. The position of the Catholic and Orthodox Churches in enlisting the sins is not different. Depiction of sins in the arts In the visual arts, the following used the seven deadly sins to form the plot: Giotto di Bondone, Bosch, Bruegel, and Callot, in theatre— Bertolt Brecht and Kurt Weill in satirical ballet with the song "Seven deadly sins" (1933, Wystan Hugh Auden).

Related Galleries

    Browse more pictures on the similar topics: seven deadly sins